“The Old Place” – Lucia Sullivan

Lucia Sullivan

******

The Old Place

” Down out the old place in the morning dew,
Tin roof shining with the dawning,
New.
The old kitchen sat right across the way.
Grandpa sat on the steps with few words to say.
He patted my back and gave me a hug.
I could feel the warmness of his heart give a tug.
His overalls defined him in their stripes and blue.
Skinny and strong with a smile or two.
We went walking down the old dirt road.
To pick some berries and maybe find a toad.
He was brisk and fast as he went that way.
In the dusty sunshine on a fine summer day.
He pulled off his hat and starting filling it up.
I giggled and helped him with a small tin cup.
We walked back fast and I held his hand.
He was as gentle and strong as any man’s man.
I walked up the rocks and then up the steps.
We handed them to grandma and gave a long hard breath.
Fans sat in corners and blew my hair around.
A small plastic cup of water and bare feet to the ground.
Down at the old place in the morning dew.
Where everything will be,
Forever new.” 

Written by Lucia Sullivan Copyright 2017 all rights reserved

 

luciasullivanpoetry

New York

I am a clairvoyant, poet, writer, and seer. I believe all things are moving towards the light. I love music, dancing, boating, nature, and animals.

 

3 thoughts on ““The Old Place” – Lucia Sullivan

Leave a Reply

